Rose Couture

Aspiring teacher. “The mediocre teacher tells. The good teacher explains. The superior teacher demonstrates. The great teacher inspires.” ― William Arthur Ward

Me & Technology

Leave a comment

Being new to this blogging phenomena, I am not certain how to begin. Who am I? Well, my name is Rose and I am a University of Regina student who is currently studying to be an immersion/French elementary school teacher. Very outgoing, I love taking on new challenges and I am looking forward to expanding my knowledge about education-related topics! Aiming to be one of those teachers that teaches against oppression.

My thoughts on technology?

Most of my experiences with technology are good. Most of them. I remember being a computer wizard at the age of 10 before my mom would even know how to turn a computer on and off. Technology has changed a lot from when I was younger, but I grew up with it. I cannot recall having any difficulties running any type of devices (computers, cellphones, tablets, iPod’s, etc).

Even though I have always had access to technology, I am just starting to get more familiar with it. Being the pen and notebook type of girl, I now find that typing my notes on my laptop allows me to have information that is complete and more organized, which makes studying and sharing notes that much easier.

On the other hand, I cannot say I have had the best experiences with smartphones. It seems to me that every single smartphone I own has to fail on me. Devices that I treated very well just started to freeze and refused to work. It was very frustrating to have to go through multiple devices in the span of one year (I went through 3 smartphones!!!). I am pretty sure that they have enough knowledge on technology to avoid those little problems, but then again, would they be able to keep their sales up if the devices never broke? That’s another story.

When our ECMP355 teacher announced to us that this course was intended to help us with the use of technology in the classroom, I was not too sure about the idea. I thought: what is wrong with a board and some chalk? It definitely goes beyond that! Everything that Mr Couros shared with us during the two first classes really opened up my eyes and allowed me to see all the possibilities technology has to offer! I am very excited to expand my knowledge on technology in the classroom and create many new connections with educators and other education people online.

Leave a Reply

