Rose Couture

Aspiring teacher. “The mediocre teacher tells. The good teacher explains. The superior teacher demonstrates. The great teacher inspires.” ― William Arthur Ward

Learning Italian with Duolingo!

Leave a comment

This is my first report for my first week of Italian learning with Duolingo from the Google Apps. I chose to capture my first time back on the application by recording my screen with the help of QuickTime. This allowed me to also talk at the same time, to try to explain you how it works, but the recording is pretty self-explanatory. I have yet to resolve how to get my microphone working to fully enjoy the many things this application has to offer, but when I practice, I often just recite the words out loud so that I can say I have said them at least once during my learning process. I decided to use YouTube to upload these videos in order to show a few of them to you. As I am typing this, there’s 1% completion on my upload to you tube and 82 minutes left to my uploading. Any tricks to make this process go faster?

In my first week, I have covered both Basics 1 & 2, as well as Phrases, which consists of commonly used phrases in Italian. I have learnt that just like in French, all the nouns have a gender, feminine or masculine, and the article used with the noun can vary depending on the gender and the form of that specific noun. I have learnt the following verbs: essere, avere, scrivere, leggere, bere and mangiare. These words, in the same order, mean: to be, to have, to write, to read, to drink and to eat. I have also learnt how to master noun such as ragazzo, ragazza, donna, uomo, mela, acqua, pane, zucchero, giornale and libro, as well as their plural forms. In the same order: boy, girl, woman, man, apple, water, bread, sugar, newspaper and book. Common phrases were constructed with common words such as: arrivederci, grazie, buonanotte, buonasera, prego, spaciente, buongiorno and favore (goodbye, thank you, goodnight, good evening, you’re welcome, sorry, hello, please). I have also started exploring the negative form which is a little trickier. When translating from Italian to English, I often catch myself translating in French first and then switch it to English, it makes it a little easier for me. Overall, great first couple of days and I can’t wait to learn some more. Next are the foods! Have you ever tried Duolingo? Don’t you want to learn a new language in a fun way? Screen Shot 2013-10-21 at 17.01.10

Here is a screenshot of my Italian skill tree and I will be linking my video to my blog once I am done uploading and editing it on YouTube. Have a great week! 🙂

Here is my video, as promised, not the greatest but hey!

Leave a Reply

