Rose Couture

Aspiring teacher. “The mediocre teacher tells. The good teacher explains. The superior teacher demonstrates. The great teacher inspires.” ― William Arthur Ward

Hidden Messages

Leave a comment

As I read over my autobiography in the course of ECS210, I discovered, to my surprise, that there was indeed hidden messages and political implications in my work. Indeed, in the first paragraph of my autobiography I spotted the words “as a young woman living in the 21st century”, definitely telling the reader my gender and what kind of woman I am. I do not live in the early 1900’s, therefore, by living in the 21st century, I have many rights that women then did not, showing that I am different. I am aware of women’s past situations in Canada and their situation all around the world today, it might affect me in some ways when I can connect to these women, while a man might have difficulty connecting in the same ways I did. I did not include my race or my sexual orientation in my autobiography, as they are not things to which I can easily identify, but I know that because I am “white” some might think that I believe I am better than others, which is false. “White privilege” might influence some events in my life, but on a personal view-point, it is not my intention, in no ways do I think that “white privilege” should be something that makes me “better” than other people. I strongly believe in equal treatment of individuals, no matter who they are and from where they might be. As I was getting further in my text, I realized that, indeed my mom had introduced me to the English language early on as we resided in a bilingual province. She wanted me to be bilingual so that I could grasp more “opportunities” in life that she was not able to grasp herself because she is monolingual. As I read into this, I can see that bilingual people are favoured over monolingual people in my birth province, as well as in Canada and other countries. There are “common sense” reasons to this, but really, why should a monolingual person be penalized over someone who has mastered more than one language? There are many other things in my biography that I have seen differently as I acquired new knowledge, and put on different lenses. My point is, we do need to look more in-depth to something that is familiar to us and that contains many, many hidden messages, as this could tell us more about who we are and how we got here.

Leave a Reply

